Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Cosmetic Industry Resources Product line claims a vegan form of Lactoperoxidase

  • Product line claims a vegan form of Lactoperoxidase

    Posted by ThePurpleOlive on September 4, 2019 at 4:16 am

    I stumbled across a brand that uses the Lactoperoxidase system as a preservative, specifically Glucose & Glucose Oxidase & Lactoperoxidase. 

    My questions were:
    1) They claim they are all vegan, but isn’t Lactoperoxidase animal derived?

    2) When I emailed in to ask a response of how they had a vegan form of Lactoperoxidase, this was the answer “Our form of Biovert Enzyme is an enzyme derived from the following source ingredients:  sugar, honey and plant milk. Some other versions do use enzymes derived from diary which is why I think this may be confusing.” Can this actually be true?

    Thanks in advance!

    OldPerry replied 4 years, 8 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • ozgirl

    Member
    September 4, 2019 at 6:09 am

    If it is derived from honey it is not considered vegan.

  • Pharma

    Member
    September 4, 2019 at 6:37 pm
    Lactoperoxidase is an animal enzyme. A Pubmed gene bank search reviled that mostly mammals have it but also some crustaceans, sea urchins, and insects such as Asiatic honeybees, aphids, and bed bugs.
    As far as my knowledge goes, plant “milk” is a colloquial term for latex. Latex, no matter how much it looks like milk, has nothing to do with milk. Also, milk just gave the enzyme its name due to its high content therein. Why someone would use plant “milk” and sugar to isolate this enzyme from bees evades me.
    Sure, genetically modified micro-organisms could express it and then it would be considered vegan but also GMO.
  • ThePurpleOlive

    Member
    September 6, 2019 at 4:20 am

    Thank you for your response. When this happens, isn’t it false advertising?

  • OldPerry

    Member
    September 8, 2019 at 3:25 pm

    The term “vegan” isn’t regulated by the FDA or FTC, so as long as you can make a reasonable case for why you are calling something ‘vegan’ it wouldn’t be false advertising.

    Also, small companies get away with this kind of false advertising all the time. They take a risk that the FDA & FTC are too busy to crack down and they are often right (until they get fined and busted).

Log in to reply.