Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Composition of materials (Montanov 202)

• Composition of materials (Montanov 202)

Posted by Paprik on June 18, 2021 at 11:39 pm

Hello guys,

I’ve recently came to an issue, where supplier did not provide  material compositions. When I asked for it, they said it’s a proprietary and they don’t have it or can’t share it. My trainer from school (IPSC) told me, they must provide that to me, if I show that it’s going to be used in a finished product. 
    I’m a small producer, not even official yet. How do I get this info then? 
    I did google searches and all, however no luck. SDS sheets .

This time, I’m struggling with Montanov 202. I cannot finish my label with ingredients list. Also, ICE Silicone from MakingCosmetics. I have no idea how to proceed. 
    Any tips, ideas, please? 

MarkBroussard replied 2 years, 10 months ago 7 Members · 24 Replies
  • 24 Replies
  • Microformulation

June 19, 2021 at 12:32 am
    What does it say in the relevant section of the MSDS? In some cases, this will give you a range. Not always but worth a shot.
  • Graillotion

June 19, 2021 at 1:34 am

well the inci for Mont 202 is as follows:

MONTANOV™ 202

• Company:

SEPPIC

• INCI Name:

Arachidyl Alcohol (and) Behenyl Alcohol (and) Arachidyl Glucoside

• Graillotion

June 19, 2021 at 1:35 am

And the other one is this:

ICE Silicone MakingCosmetics Inc.
    • INCI Name:

Cetyl Alcohol (and) Sodium Polyacrylate (and) Polysorbate 80 (and) Glyceryl Stearate (and) Dimethicone/Divinyldimethicone/Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer

• Graillotion

June 19, 2021 at 1:39 am

It sounds like you are trying to make the label INCI?  If so, you have the information.  Is ‘Material Composition’ something different than what it is made of?

Your supplier posts the ingredients….right on the opening page.  It is right after the letters “INCI Name”

• Paprik

June 19, 2021 at 1:40 am

Thank you guys @Microformulation and @Graillotion