Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Benzostat

• Benzostat

Posted by Fabfo on August 7, 2021 at 8:55 pm

Hi guys how are you doing? I’m new to formulating and I was wondering if the preservative Benzostat ( Caprylhydroxamic Acid (and) Benzyl Alcohol (and) Glycerin) is a good ‘natural’ preservative, is it compatible with surfactants, or anionic’s, is it  incompatible with any other cosmetic ingredients, and what is the probable shelf life of a product that uses this preservative? I was also wondering if you can make your own Benzoztat blend at home, I don’t think there are any 3rd party cosmetic supplier websites that sell it, and there is no point in buying a 25kg pail when I’m not even selling yet. I was able to find a sds that said the percentage of Benzyl Alcohol in the preservative was 71%, so 100-71 = 29% left over, I found another sds that said the range of Caprylhydroxamic Acid was 10-20%, and Glycerin 10-25%, so I’m guessing CHA is about 13-14% and glycerin 15-16%, now the question is how to mix them together, do i just add them in a bottle and call it a day or something else, thank you!

microformulation replied 2 years, 7 months ago 4 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • microformulation

August 7, 2021 at 11:37 pm

In my experience, upheld by PET Testing, it is not a very robust preservation system. And that is with the commercial product, properly standardized.

• abdullah

August 8, 2021 at 12:31 am

You need to mix them then heat it until caprylhydroxamic acid is melted and dissolved and cool it and store it for later use. 
    Or you can use them in these percentages directly in your product. I use caprylhydroxamic acid first ingredient in one of my lotions which is cationic and i can’t use chelating agents to chelate iron

• Fabfo

August 8, 2021 at 7:46 pm

In my experience, upheld by PET Testing, it is not a very robust preservation system. And that is with the commercial product, properly standardized.