Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Anti-Dandruff and Basic Shampoo Critique

• Anti-Dandruff and Basic Shampoo Critique

Posted by lucioc on May 24, 2021 at 11:19 pm

Hi everyone my name is Lucio, I’m an Industrial Engineering Student from Argentina working on my final project. I have no chemical background and the topic assigned to me was simulate building a Shampoo and Conditioner  factory. The main purpose of the project isn’t focused on the chemical field, it’s more oriented to the process, despite of that, I need a basic and cheap formula for antidandruff shampoo and conditioner + basic and cheap formula for a shampoo and conditioner. I want to make clear that asking experts is allowed and part of the investigation.

With that said, this are the formulas that I could “create” reading this forum, internet and bottle ingredients. Any suggestion is welcome, remember I need basic formulas, the cheaper, the better.

In addition, if there is any resource where I can read about the production process is very welcome.

Thank you all in advance!

PhilGeis replied 2 years, 10 months ago 5 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • lucioc

May 24, 2021 at 11:46 pm

I want to make a correction, in the shampoo it says EDTA two times.
    This is the correct formula:

• abdullah

May 25, 2021 at 1:33 am

That preservatives, what is the percentage of active preservative in them. They are allowed at 15ppm which is %0.0015 combined.

• PhilGeis

May 25, 2021 at 12:23 pm

Eliminate EDTA - you’ll screw up your ZPT.  As Abdullah said - preservatives are must too great in concentration and prob not the best choice as ZPT and isothiazolinones can be incompatible.   

• lucioc

May 25, 2021 at 1:25 pm

PhilGeis said:

Eliminate EDTA - you’ll screw up your ZPT.  As Abdullah said - preservatives are must too great in concentration and prob not the best choice as ZPT and isothiazolinones can be incompatible.   

Abdullah said: