Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Hair Ingredients That Promote Better Moisture Retention

• Ingredients That Promote Better Moisture Retention

Posted by blacbird23 on January 8, 2021 at 6:20 am
    (I would like to preface my first post by saying I’m a novice with formulating my hair care products.)
    Does anyone know of any ingredients that can be added to a leave-in conditioner that provide longer last moisture or slow releasing moisture after application or rinsing? I have very thick coils/curly hair.
    All the leave-in conditioners I formulate feel amazing while applying, but once dry all of those humectants, conditioners and emollients seem to leave the building. I’m left with meh moisture levels after my hair is completely dry. 
    I plan on trying these ingredients next. 
    Propanediol 1,3, Caprylic Capric Triglycerides
    and polyquaternium-7. Any other recommendations are welcome.

If needed I can include my latest of many leave-in conditioner formulations. I’m on round #9 and I’m exhausted with this. 
    blacbird23 replied 3 years, 2 months ago 4 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • Benz3ne

January 8, 2021 at 9:31 am

What sort of ingredients have you got in there now? Ultimately, adding/substituting in some of the other ingredients might affect how it feels in the hair.
    Humectants such as 1,3-propanediol and/or glycerine will help retain moisture. Sodium lactate I’ve seen crop up a few times in hand-washes for humectant properties, too.
    Triglycerides will be emollient, and there are other modified oils that are water-soluble that might benefit available on the market.
    Polyquat-7 is cationic so gives some slip. It’s also used as a film-former in some leave-on products so might provide added benefit in that regard.