Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Feedback on my niacinamide “toner”?

• Feedback on my niacinamide “toner”?

Posted by jessicalerner on December 31, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Hello- I am just getting started studying cosmetic chemistry to formulate for myself/friends/family. My first attempt is a simple “toner” - no cleansing desired; just brightening and hydrating. Two questions: since everything is water-soluble, I don’t need a solubilizer or antioxidant, correct? Do I need a chelating agent with this small amount of aloe concentrate? Any other feedback? Thank you so much! 

Distilled
    water
    Niacinamide 5
    Urea 5
    Aloe Vera
    concentrate (10x) 
    Glycerin 2.5
    Propanediol 2.5
    Allantoin 0.25
    Hexanediol 0.7

Lactic acid to adjust pH to 5.5

AbbasMo replied 3 years, 2 months ago 6 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • jemolian

January 1, 2021 at 3:16 am

Since you are using aloe vera, you might want to add a chelating agent, though you would also want a more robust broad spectrum preservative besides from the diols you have. 

You would also need a buffer for the urea since it will increase the pH as it causes pH drifting over time. 

• ngarayeva001

January 1, 2021 at 9:33 am

You need chelating agent anyway as part of your preservative system speaking of which, I understand you rely on diols here. I am no expert by any means, but it doesn’t look sufficient to me especially with aloe added (aloe introduces additional preservation challenge). Other than that, your toner looks ok to me. I make a serum very similar to this (urea, niacinamide, sodium lactate, lactic acid, other humectants). I keep ph at 6 and thicken it with high molecular weight hyaluronic acid.

• jessicalerner

January 2, 2021 at 1:56 pm

This is super helpful. Thanks so much.

• oldperry

January 4, 2021 at 6:03 pm

Yeah, you need a proper preservative and a chelating agent (like disodium EDTA)

• AbbasMo

January 20, 2021 at 7:59 am

jemolian said: