Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Question about Lamellar Gel Network (LGN)

• Question about Lamellar Gel Network (LGN)

Posted by steamedrice on December 26, 2020 at 5:13 am

Hi all amazing people,

Been reading up on LGN. Since Im not a professionally trained personal care formulator, but am a chemist involved in pharmaceutical compounding. Something is grabbing my attention recently… apparently LGN formulation can speed up wound healing since it mimics the skin lamellar structure? Is this true? If so, how?

Also, how would I go about formulating a hand cream adopting the principles of LGN formulation? Can anyone give me an insight or deeper understanding of this subject please.

The more I know, the scarier it gets! The more I know, the more I know I don’t know…

Thanks all. 

steamedrice replied 3 years, 2 months ago 6 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • graillotion

December 26, 2020 at 6:43 am

Are you familiar with the search bar in the top right corner?
    Use that, and you will have hours upon hours of great reading.

• pharma

December 26, 2020 at 3:17 pm
    I don’t see too much (or at least close enough) similarities between LGN (often called alpha phase) and skin but I get why cosmetic industries might extrapolate from one to the other.
    HERE‘s a quick reading about the subject. And, as mentioned by @Graillotion, you’ll find a fair bit of posts here on CST.
    Certain lamellar structures will be similar to the mortar and cement between corneocytes and thereby positively support healing but that heavily depends on the used emulsifiers and hence is only true for a very few products.
  • steamedrice

January 2, 2021 at 6:45 am

Thank you all! Really appreciate it. 

• zetein

January 4, 2021 at 1:00 am
    Is this article on the same thing?