Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Question regarding Lip Gloss and Preservatives

• Question regarding Lip Gloss and Preservatives

Posted by beechez on September 21, 2020 at 5:30 pm

Hello all! 

tl;dr: Should I include a preservative in my DIY lipgloss?

I would like to preface this question by explaining that I am really a hobbyist in this space, but I am having a very hard time getting a straight answer to my question among other hobbyists. While researching my question online,  I found this forum, so am hoping its ok to ask here. 

I make lipglosses, mostly from pre-packaged materials, and just for myself. However, I have had friends and family ask to have some of the product for themselves and others. I want to make sure that what I give out is as safe as a handmade product can be. I started searching to see if there was a rule of thumb around preservatives in DIY lipgloss, but there seems to be disagreement in the DIY community on if you need preservative, because the product doesn’t have any water directly in it. I would rather include it if there is even a chance of it being needed and I wanted to run it past someone more knowledgeable. 

My Current “Formula”

Prepackaged Gel Base 65%
    Made up of : Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (and) Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer (and) Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer. I don’t have the breakdown of these ingredients within the base, but supposedly Hydrogenated Polyisobutene is 95% .

Coconut Oil 15%

Castor Oil 9.5%

Vitamin E .5%

Various Colorants (Mica/Oil based pigments) 10%

I am considering updating so that 1% of the batch is 
    Phenoxyethanol.

Is this the right move? Aside from keeping my workspace clean and sterile, do I need anything else? I was reading some pretty scary stories on the internet about homemade products.