Gel based Hand sanitizer

hrajanhrajan Member
Hi Hari thiagarajan,

I have 22 years experience in Herbal extract ,fine chemical and speciality chemicals.

I have handled various tasks,supply chain ,product formulation,quality control ,product management and Environmental.

Now i doing lab trial for gel based (carbomer), it is  working up to 60% IPA when I adding more than that the gel is breaking and become precipitate and settling.

Kindly give me your suggestion how can I prepare 70 to 75 % IPA. Which is mandatory.

Comments

• Use neutrol TE by BASF as neutralizer, or use ANGUS brand AMP 95. It can neutralize and thicken carbomer even with 90% alcohol content. Hope this helps
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    I have add 0.3% TEA for neutralization it is working up to 60% IPA more than that not working.
  • what is the percentage of carbomer 
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    0.4 used
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    25% water,because as per our norms we should use min.70%IPA in the formulation
  • em88em88 Member
    edited April 26
    It depends on the carbomer type and what are you neutralizing with.
    You should post the full formula if you need a specific help. 
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    Surely will send it
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    Formula,we need min 70%IPA content.
    So water used around 24% and 75% IPA

Water                23.70
    Carbomer.          0.35
    IPA.                     75.00
    TEA.                      0.25
    Glycerine.             0.30
    Colour.                   0.20
    Perfume.               0.20                
  • hrajanhrajan Member
    Sorry PG missed in the above formula

Water                23.20
    Carbomer.          0.35
    PG.                      0.50
    IPA.                     75.00
    TEA.                      0.25
    Glycerine.             0.30
    Colour.                   0.20
    Perfume.               0.20                
  • GraillotionGraillotion Member
    edited April 27
    Here is a nice working formula: