Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Hand Gel advice

• Hand Gel advice

Posted by Shams on April 8, 2020 at 4:18 am

I am trying to formulate a hand gel with 70% w/w ethanol.
    I am a cosmetic chemist working in a company that does have lots of restriction on ingredients. 

I tried ultrez 20 , but the problem is that NaOH precipitated with this high alcohol content.
    Unfortunately i can’t use TEA or any of its derivatives.

P.S. I tried xanthan gum but didn’t work as i believe it can’t hold such high alcohol, same with hydroxyethyl cellulose

I don’t want to use Sepimax zen as it is currently out of stock and i can’t afford waiting..
    Any suggestions please would be great.

pharma replied 3 years, 11 months ago 7 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • Agate

April 8, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Easy solution: Follow the WHO formula (https://www.who.int/gpsc/5may/Guide_to_Local_Production.pdf) which doesn’t include or require a gelling agent in the first place. It’s simple, it’s cheap, ingredients are available, and most importantly it’s proven to be effective. The only drawback is that some users must be educated that liquid formulations work and should be used exactly like gel formulations (e.g. not spraying it or otherwise using too little).

• Shams

April 8, 2020 at 10:23 pm

@Agate thanks for taking time to reply back.
    We have already done the spray according to WHO guidelines. But now, i am requested to formulate the gel with the above mentioned criteria

• Shams

April 8, 2020 at 10:25 pm

@Perry have you got any suggestions , please

• Agate

April 9, 2020 at 8:10 am
    The WHO formula should not be in a spray. It’s a dangerous way of application as you are guaranteed to achieve incomplete disinfection.
    If you use google to search this forum (query: site:chemistscorner.com hand sanitizer), you’ll find answers to your question.
  • EVchem

April 9, 2020 at 11:56 am