Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating 1st Post - Shampoo solid-to-liquid Recipe Feedback

• 1st Post - Shampoo solid-to-liquid Recipe Feedback

Posted by Anonymous on February 29, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Hello! I’m a newb shampoo hobbyist with no chemistry background, who’s playing around with environmentally-friendly shampoo formats and would like to get some feedback from you lovely people! 

I’m trying to make a solid, concentrated, water-activated Shampoo “Ball”, that when dropped into a bottle of water, dissolves, and turns into a bottle of normal liquid shampoo. Using biodegradable, ECO-cert ingredients.

I made the ball last night (fail), dropped it into water to dissolve, and noticed hours later, the foam subsided into a crumbly white layer on top, with bits of surfactant (SCI?) floating around. It’s also watery because I haven’t yet added thickener.

Recipe at bare minimum (prefer biodegradable ingredients as I have young kids and am paranoid)

- 3% SLSa - powder, for cleansing,

- 3% SCI - noodle form, which I mash into powder, for cleansing
    - 1% Decyl Glucoside - to tame the primary surfactants. Would like to avoid CAPB as it’s uncertain whether it’s safe for aquatic life (?)
    - 5% Baking Soda - for Acid-base ‘fizzing’ reaction
    - 5% Citric Acid - for Acid-base ‘fizzing’ reaction
    - 1% Glycerin - to bind the powders…but I found this made some of the ball fizz away and turn gooey
    - Water too 100%

My questions: 
    1- Would adding an emulsifier like Olivem 1000 help the SCI mix with the water better? Can Olivem 1000 be used for a mild shampoo? Yes, I can just buy it and try but it’s $$$ so wanted to ask first, and I’ve read it’s used more for lotions vs shampoo?
    2- What conditioning ingredient can I add that will blend in with the shampoo (assuming Olivem 1000 can emulsify the ingredients)? 
    3- What mild thickeners do you recommend ? I have xanthan gum, aloe powder on hand..