Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Solubilisation conundrum

• Solubilisation conundrum

Posted by Tendo on February 13, 2020 at 9:03 pm

Hello, newbie here! 

I am attempting (not very successfully I might add) with solubilising oils into a water solution for a hair milk I’m developing. I live in Kampala, Uganda so obtaining newer/ better ingredients is nigh near impossible or it costs both kidneys and an arm! 
    Had a chemist suggest that I use monopropylene glycol and isopropyl myristate but I’m unsure if this will work as I’ve never used MPG before. Please have a look-see and any suggestions/ recommendations would be greatly appreciated
    formula is: 
    water 77.18%
    Caprylic/capric triglycerides 7%
    Symbiosolv clear 4%
    Isopropyl myristate 4%
    Argania Spinosa 3%
    Monopropylene glycol 2%
    Aloe phytelene 1%
    Phenoxyethanol 1%
    Majoram essential oil 0.6%
    Ginger 0.15%
    Lime essential oil 0.07%
    I am hoping for a milky solution and not necessarily a clear one at the end. 
    Thank you! 

Tendo replied 4 years, 1 month ago 6 Members · 11 Replies
  • 11 Replies
  • belassi

February 14, 2020 at 1:49 am

What problems have you experienced? You understand, I can’t just look at your LOI and tell you what to do. I would have to make it myself and see what happened. The preservative is not good against mould but it could be that the EOs would be sufficient. I think the 0.6% EO is way too much. Maybe 0.3% tops?

• Tendo

February 14, 2020 at 8:00 am

The solution isn’t homogeneous, separates out into a thick milky layer settling on the top and a lighter one at the bottom. I’m hoping to end up with a uniform solution not one that requires shaking before use. Thanks for the suggestion on the majoram, I’ll try it with the reduced amount. Any suggestions for preserving against mold? 
    Thank you for the response! 

• Tendo

February 14, 2020 at 10:20 am

• chemicalmatt

February 14, 2020 at 4:29 pm