Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating help a chemist out :)

• help a chemist out :)

Posted by shechemie on January 20, 2020 at 8:18 pm
    Hello,
    I’m a bio-inorganic chemist taking up a new hobby in cosmetic chemistry.  This new hobby of mine started a few months ago when I drew the line in the sand and refused to pay $80 for a face cream that I wanted.  I thought I’d just make it for myself! That cream turned out pretty well for my first try, I have to admit….From a stability standpoint the emulsion passed the 40C/30,000g/5mins test.  I used my Cuisinart handheld immersion mixer to make this emulsion (200g total weight).  I was shocked when the centrifuge lid opened and my cream did not separate.    I was not so lucky with the preservative system I chose.  Not a huge fan of Leucidal…but truth be told, I should have added a chelating agent to start.  After a few weeks the cream smelled of mold.
    My mother in law has requested that I make her an eye-cream.  She is 73 years old.  Here is what I plan to use, any constructive criticism would be most appreciated. 
    Phase 1:
    60% Water
    3% Glycerin
    2% Phytic acid
    2.5% Preservative System (Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Benzoate, Benzoic Acid)
    0.4 % Xantham Gum
    Phase 2:
    7% Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides
    6% Emulsifier System (glyceryl stearate, potassium hydrolyzed oat protein, cetearyl alcohol, glyceryl stearate)
    5% Jojoba Oil
    5% Squalane
    3% Shea Butter
    Phase 3:
    1% Bakuchiol
    5% A cocktail from Gattefosse’ targeted for eyes (B3, butylene glycol, glycolic acid, a silicate of some sort)
    0.1% Vitamin E acetate
    I may need to add some base to bring the pH to 4.5-5.0ish
    Thank you in advance for suggestions/ help.
    gunther replied 4 years, 2 months ago 7 Members · 12 Replies
  • 12 Replies
  • oldperry

January 20, 2020 at 9:13 pm

Dump the alternative preservative system and go with some proven, safer and easier to work with parabens.