Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Advanced Questions Why O/W polymers are added to W/Si emulsions?

• Why O/W polymers are added to W/Si emulsions?

Posted by ngarayeva001 on July 17, 2019 at 11:04 am

Hello All,

I have some modest experience with O/W products and have an
    idea how o/w polymers such as Sepinov EMT 10 or Aristoflex AVC work.

Recently I started exploring W/Si world and had to forget
    all rules I learnt before. For example O/W polymers don’t really like
    electrolytes (with some exceptions), while in W/O they are must have for
    stability. I also heard on the institute of personal care science channel that
    O/W polymers (I think they particularly mentioned xanthan) should not be used
    in W/O systems because they somehow break the emulsion.

On the other hand there is Seppic’s Geltrap (that is utterly
    unstable) that mixes Easynov with Sepiplus 400. Seppic however doesn’t recommend
    adding electrolytes for an obvious reason (they will break gelled water phase).
    I tried to apply geltrap’s logic to other materials. I mixed Aristoflex AVC
    with PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate  W/O
    HIPE emulsifier and all I got is a greasy mess with W/O properties that
    separated the next day. I thought it must be a good idea because Easynov is a
    combination of PEG-30 Dipolyhydroxystearate and Fluidanov. Apparently it doesn’t
    work.

Apologies for the long introduction, but how can this be
    explained:

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate,
    Cyclohexasiloxane, Glycerin, Isododecane, Butylene Glycol, SD Alcohol 40
    (Alcohol Denat.), Lauryl PEG-9
    Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone,
    Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone,
    Hexyl Laurate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Nylon-12, Glycoproteins, Panax
    Ginseng Root Extract, Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail) Extract, Glycine Soja
    (Soybean) Oil Unsaponifiables, Ilomastat, Ursolic Acid, Hydrogenated Lecithin,