Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Hair Formulate a Gel Wax hair product based on disco’d product

• Formulate a Gel Wax hair product based on disco’d product

Posted by simflyer905 on May 28, 2019 at 5:31 pm

Hi!  I have no chemistry experience, but I’m intent on replicating a hair gel/wax product that is no longer available on the market.  The company owner in Israel has literally responded to me in writing (twice) to tell me he’s shut down his business forever.  I asked for the product formulation, but he won’t respond.  I’ve been using the product religiously for over 2 years because it’s the only thing that works and isn’t loaded with fragrance (I’m very scent sensitive).  

The product is a GEL/Wax combination in a 4 OZ container.  It has the perfect consistency and qualities of Gel and wax combined.  It rinses out very easy, and leaves no waxy residue.  Other products on the market don’t compare, as they have way too much fragrance, or not enough of the waxiness.  

Here is the ingredients list off Google, for this product:

Aqua, Glycerine, PEG-7, Glyceryl, Coloate, Ceteareth 30, Parafinum, Liquidium (Mineral oil), Magnesium, Chloride, Magnesium Nitrate, Methylchloroisazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone,CI. 17200.

Here is the ingredients list, along with my comments and struggles:

1. Distilled water (readily available)
    2. Glycerin (vegetable cosmetic grade is available on amazon)
    3. PEG-7 (available on amazon)
    4. Glyceryl Cocate (seems to be the same as PEG-7 ?)
    5. Ceteareth-30 (The hardest one to find - can I substitute?)
    6. Parafinum Liquidium (Is regular mineral oil ok?)
    7. Magnesium Chloride (assuming I can get this)
    8. Magnesium Nitrate (assuming I can get this)
    9. Methylchloroisazolinone (assuming I can get this)
    10. Methylisothiazolinone (is this not the same thing as above) ?