Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Cosmetic Industry What makes a cosmetic chemist?

• gld010

November 12, 2018 at 7:13 pm

“A lot of what I know about cosmetic formulation I actually learned on the job.” She continued: “I learn a lot by trial and error. Take that as you will.”

As far as I know this is a normal way to learn formulation chemistry? My first gig was as a formulation chemist for color cosmetics when I had previously formulated/researched weird cement in grad school. There are very few degree programs (in the US, at least) about cosmetic formulation. I was able to learn as I went from suppliers, coworkers, whitepapers, even this very forum. In fact, one of the things I like about this job is that I am learning something new every day. I’ve been doing this for only two years and there is so much more to learn.

I have a degree in chemistry and a masters in molecular science, neither of which directly taught me formulation, pertaining to cosmetics or otherwise… so I am unsure that it is such a bad thing if you don’t have a degree and are selling your own cosmetic line (as long as you get all of your safety testing done, I mean :# ). I’m sure a degree in chemistry can help you parse information given to you by suppliers, and make scientifically minded decisions, and the like but I am unsure if it is 100% required.

…But representing yourself as having a degree when you do not, or representing yourself as the only formulator when in fact you have a team or used a contract manufacturer, isn’t a great thing to do.

• oldperry

November 12, 2018 at 11:44 pm

I agree that most of formulating is learned on the job. I have a degree in chemistry and learned next to nothing about formulating cosmetics in college.

Yeah, I think the objectionable thing is claiming an expertise / credit for something that wasn’t earned. 

I do wonder what the company did to annoy someone so much that they wrote a whole article about it. 

• ngarayeva001