Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Trying to get my foot in the door! HELP!

• Trying to get my foot in the door! HELP!

Posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2013 at 12:25 pm

I am at wits end. I’ve been trying to get a job as a Bench/ Formulations Chemist, and I am having horrible luck. I’ve been a perfumer tech, a stability chemist, and now I’m a Coordinator/ technologist and I’m overseeing the development of personal
    care products from start to finish. The problem is that I am no longer in the
    lab.  All these companies seem to want
    someone with years of experience. I can’t compete. I’ve been trying to teach
    myself with the help of aids offered by the SCC. What else can I do to make myself marketable or
    are there other ways to gain experience? PLEASE HELP! What should I do?

mayurdave replied 10 years, 1 month ago 3 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • bobzchemist

December 25, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Have you been working with recruiters?

• Anonymous

December 25, 2013 at 8:50 pm

I’ve working with them, but companies want someone with years of experience. How do I get experience if they won’t give me a chance. I know I can do it. Its so frustrating

• bobzchemist

December 26, 2013 at 12:04 pm

I know it’s frustrating. It may take a while. Don’t limit yourself to just one recruiter, but keep track of who sends your resume where. Get active on LinkedIn, also.

You have a few longer-term  options - first, you could try to identify a large company that’s hiring, that you want to work with. Take Avon, for example. Then, be persistent. Connect with their chemists and managers on LinkedIn, go to SCC meetings and network, etc.

Option 2 is to expand your search to include private label manufacturers and ingredient suppliers.
    Option 3 is to enroll in a Masters degree program that has good industry contacts and/or internships.
    Lastly, you might want to consider setting up a home lab and doing some formulation yourself.
  • Anonymous