Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Regulation Update: Cyclosiloxanes in the EU

• belassi

February 12, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Thanks for that. I took away from it, (1) D4 should be avoided completely (2) D5 should not be used above 0.1%. Using D5 at that level seems pointless so I have stopped using it completely.

• microformulation

February 12, 2018 at 7:25 pm

In the areas that I have been consulting silicones have been avoided due to market bias anyway. I have been using D5 alternatives for the last 24 months or so to meet this requirement.

• oldperry

February 13, 2018 at 1:11 pm

What alternatives have you been using?

• microformulation

February 13, 2018 at 2:28 pm

I honestly have found that the Lexfeel line from Inolex has been the most successful. That said many companies have come out with D5 alternatives. It is a hot area, especially with the marketing bias against silicones (not really based on good science). The Lexfeel products are naturally derived and sustainable and as such meet many of the market demands. 

• doreen

February 14, 2018 at 9:23 am

@Microformulation
    Thanks for the update.
    I agree. I’ve tried the Lexfeel Shine, D5, N5 and 350. I’m particularly fond of the D5. All things considered I do prefer silicones however.
    I get the feeling that the bias is only getting worse. I’ve heard people even complaining about the silicone replacements. Lexfeel 350 for example, (dipentaerythrityl hexa C5-9 acid esters). “It is unpronounceable and sounds very ‘chemical’, it can never be good.” :smirk:

• microformulation

February 14, 2018 at 2:54 pm

@Doreen81I have experienced the same bias and attitudes from clients. Years ago there was a fallacy in Cosmetics that if a product is unpronounceable, it is bad. I think Food Babe was the worst example.