Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Troubleshooting - magnesium stearate

• Troubleshooting - magnesium stearate

Posted by bellbottom on June 20, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Hello all. This is my first post and I am not a professional formulator - I am a DIYer so please have patience :) I am trying to develop a *natural* vegan cream foundation. What I have so far is a medium-coverage (by industry standards) anhydrous cream foundation in a balm form. After it is applied it looks amazing on the skin, looks like skin, lasts for at least 8 hours and feels weightless on the skin. The problem is, in the pot it feels super sticky and tacky, and after two weeks it develops a skin on top (ew). You can rub the surface and break the skin to get to the rest of the product, but this feels gross. :/ I think the problem is the magnesium stearate that was added for slip and adhesion. Without it, the formula does not last on the skin as well and easily rubs off.

My formula is:
    25% pigments (oxides and TiO2 blend)
    45% plant oil blend (sunflower, argan, jojoba)
    10% carnauba wax
    10% magnesium stearate
    5% cornstarch
    1% vit E

Now, I have searched through Google exhaustively on information on magnesium stearate and I have found no mention of something like this.

bellbottom replied 6 years, 9 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • drbobverdient-biz

June 20, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Do a knockout starting with C-wax.What is your process?

• bobzchemist

June 20, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Under what criteria are you considering the Magnesium Stearate “natural”?

What grade of Magnesium Stearate are you using?

What temperature are you heating your batch to?

• oldperry

June 20, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Here is what @DRBOB@VERDIENT.BIZ means by a knock-out experiment.  
    https://chemistscorner.com/do-you-know-the-fastest-way-to-become-an-expert-cosmetic-formulator/