Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Stick Foundation

• Stick Foundation

Posted by PeiHoong on April 11, 2017 at 7:53 am

Hi, currently I’m trying to make stick foundation and this is my first time to do it. I am facing a problem and hope somebody can guide me on this. 
    Problem: when I try to mix the pigment into the melted wax and oil phase, there appears a layer of oil (seems like oil is separated from the pigment) after the pigment is introduced. I wonder is it due to my pouring method or the formula is not stable. Wish someone can advise me on this….Thank you very much.

bobzchemist replied 6 years, 11 months ago 3 Members · 16 Replies
  • 16 Replies
  • johnb

April 11, 2017 at 8:15 am

Is this formula your own creation or is it something published?

Either way, please let us know what it is.

• PeiHoong

April 11, 2017 at 8:42 am

erm…it is something published but I’ve made some changes. So I’m wondering is it the oil that i used is not compatible…

• johnb

April 11, 2017 at 9:01 am

Sorry, but we can’t help you without more information regarding the formula/components of the product and details of the changes you have made.

• bobzchemist

April 11, 2017 at 2:41 pm

As johnb says,we need the formula before we can give any substantial advice. I’d be particularly interested in what pigment suspending agent you are using.

I’ll also point out something I frequently tell beginners. NEVER make even the slightest changes to a published formula until you are sure that you can make it succesfully yourself as written. Not all published formulas work well. Some don’t work at all. If you make changes before you even start, you can never know what’s going wrong.

• PeiHoong

April 12, 2017 at 12:43 am