Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Color and makeup O/W (?) liquid foundation

• O/W (?) liquid foundation

Posted by JulietK on March 17, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Hi everyone,

let me thank you again for accepting me onboard. It’s a real pleasure to read all the wonderful stuff you post, I already found some very useful insight in your old discussions.

I’m an Italian researcher in Humanities with a newly-found passion for cosmetics self-production (so I’m the DIY person).
    I read the forum rules and I hope I’m not breaking any of them - if I am, please tell me so that I can correct and educate myself.

Here’s my current dilemma. I’m trying to reproduce a well-known liquid foundation but I started having doubts concerning the nature of the emulsion involved. At first I thought it was an O/W, not so sure anymore.

Here’s the ingredients list:
    Water/Aqua/Eau, dimethicone, hydrogenated polyisobutene, butylene glycol, PVP/hexadecene copolymer, stearic acid, phenyl trimethicone, polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, ethylhexyl hydroxystearate, VP/eicosene polymer, talc, tocopherol, tocopheryl acetate, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange), fusanus spicatus wood oil, Xanthan Gum, triethanolamine, polysorbate 20, magnesium aluminum silicate, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cetyl alcohol, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin [+/- mica, titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), chromium oxide greens (CI 77288)], <ILN40892>

What’s your take, if any?
    Thanks in advance.

JulietK replied 7 years ago 5 Members · 21 Replies
  • 21 Replies
  • johnb

March 17, 2017 at 2:34 pm

I think your first task is to translate the INCI speak into real life ingredients, particularly PVP/hexadecene copolymer, VP/eicosene polymer, magnesium aluminum silicate and also ensure that all the components are available to small users.