Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating materials

• materials

Posted by GeorgeO on March 8, 2017 at 12:39 am

In my past life I was a chemist and had a closet that was filled with ingredients that sales reps would gladly give us. Starting out new again SLES, etc. is easy to find but some of the better surfactants can not be purchased online, I think. Anyone have advice on getting specific ingredients for test, trials that may not always be easy to find?

johnb replied 7 years ago 5 Members · 17 Replies
  • 17 Replies
  • johnb

March 8, 2017 at 7:04 am

There are lots of companies which repack ingredients into small amounts for the small/home user.

All you need to do is seek these out via Google (or other search engine).

• bobzchemist

March 8, 2017 at 6:58 pm

You have nothing to lose by emailing and asking for samples, either. 

• chemicalmatt

March 8, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Try getting accepted as a “user” with UL Prospector. You may need an active industry chemist to qualify you.  Once in, you can request samples from the many chemical ingredient suppliers who subscribe. I do know that independent consultants often get ignored by manufacturers and distributors, who don’t often realize these folks may be recommending their materials to their clients for further commercialization. Too bad, this is short-sighted.

• GeorgeO

March 8, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Thanks for the tips all, will do!

• GeorgeO

March 9, 2017 at 11:50 pm

Anyone know where I can get some Sodium Lauryl Methyl Isethionate for a bench batch?
    I’ve been out of the industry for so long I think many of the people I worked with are probably retired by now for a UL user acceptance.

• johnb

March 10, 2017 at 7:38 am
  • johnb

March 10, 2017 at 9:02 am

There are two sellers of SCI on eBay as well. I use eBay UK but these suppliers are in the USA and will export.

I think SCI is the nearest you will find available in small quantities.

• GeorgeO

March 10, 2017 at 10:24 pm