Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Newbie - Need advice on making a highlighter

• Newbie - Need advice on making a highlighter

Posted by Anonymous on January 15, 2017 at 8:09 am
     I am 18 years old and really have a passion in a makeup. I’m currently working full time and i’m trying to break out of that by doing something i love. I am interested in creating my own cosmetics, specifically highlighters, aka illuminators. I have done some research and came across a few different ingredients to use. 
    One recipe i was told was:
    Mica, 
    Isopropyl Myristate 
    Bis-Vinyl Dimethicone Copolymer,
    Dimethicone
    (I am unsure what measurements go with this one). 
    Another one i saw was:
    Magnesium stearate 1g
    Talc 3g
    Mica 0.5g
    Coloured Mica 2.5g
    Caprylic capric tryglicerides 
    Octyldocecyl lactate 
    Ethylhexyl stearate 
    I am no expert and anything you can tell me i’d be extremely grateful for. 
    I want to make sure my ingredients are 100% safe and also vegan. I do not want to use Talc, are there any alternatives?
    Could you offer any advice on ingredients that i may benefit from using. If you could offer a method and measurements that would be great.
    Also, I was wondering what is key in making a powder formula that feels velvety on the skin and is super super pigmented. I want to see the colours e.g gold, i don’t want it to look sheer. I really want my colours to stand out and look high quality. I’ve attached pictures to give you an idea of what i’m going for. As i said i’m only 18 and an amateur in all this but i’m hard working and willing to learn and listen. 

Thanks image

Silvie replied 7 years, 2 months ago 3 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • johnb

January 15, 2017 at 9:28 am

You really should find out what you are doing first being even looking at what you will be making. It is unfair of you to request all that information with no input from yourself