Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Cosmetic Industry Resources Have custom formula already and looking for manufacturer to produce

• Have custom formula already and looking for manufacturer to produce

Posted by sbiggers3 on February 24, 2016 at 8:19 pm

I have my chemist for my custom formulations and things are moving along nicely. I am a makeup artist and come from a marketing background so I have that covered. Packaging is also in the works. What I can’t find is a manufacturer. The majority that I’ve reached out to are for skincare, private label, have crazy high minimums like 5000/sku, or will only manufacture custom formulations from their own R&D department.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I’d appreciate any leads as I am getting kind of frustrated :( 
    Oh and I’m looking for 1000-2000 pieces per sku, for at least 20 products (10 shades of one foundation formula, and 10 shades of one concealer formula), and they must be able to source a number of organic ingredients.
    bill_toge replied 8 years, 1 month ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • sbiggers3

February 24, 2016 at 8:20 pm

Also I should note that I’d be happy having an even lower minimum like 500, but I’m realizing that’s VERY challenging to find, so ~2000 seems more feasible.

• bobzchemist

February 26, 2016 at 3:14 pm

I don’t have any advice for you other than to keep doing research and talking to manufacturers.

The companies I’ve dealt with for color cosmetics that I consider reasonable are: Mana, Lady Burd, and Kolmar. 
    Probably the easiest thing to do is to hire a consultant to help you find a manufacturer. Yet - doing so would also keep you from gaining valuable knowledge about these contract manufacturers - knowing how they deal with prospective customers should give you an indication of how they’ll deal with you going forward.
    This is a good reference site:
    as are HAPPI, D&CI, and the SCC national site.
  • bill_toge

February 27, 2016 at 12:25 am