Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Xantham gum Verse Solagum tara

• Xantham gum Verse Solagum tara

Posted by dtdang on September 11, 2022 at 2:29 pm

Good morning! wishing everyone have wonderful weekend!

I am planning to use Solagum tara. But I have no knowledge about it.
    Would anyone (with experiences or knowledge about it) give me advise?

Xantham gum verse Dalagum tara?

Thank you so much in advance.

dtdang replied 1 year, 6 months ago 4 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • paprik

September 11, 2022 at 6:54 pm

Hello @Dtdang, please see attached :)
    You should get plenty of info from this brochure. Happy formulating.

• ggpetrov

September 11, 2022 at 7:07 pm
    Actually they are incomparable. The Tara gum tends to make a kind of swirls no matter how to process it. I tried a lot of approaches but no one worked for me. If you make a clear water gel with only glycerin, then it’s fantastic and softens the skin. In emulsions it’s a real horror, especially in the next day.

• dtdang

September 15, 2022 at 8:34 am

Thank you so much, @ggpetrov and @Paprik.
    I get another difficulty is that tara gum is difficult to soluble in cool water. I have to put tara gum + H2O in freezer for at least 2 hours for tara gum dispersing to water. Is there another way to soluble tara gum in water?

• Lab

September 15, 2022 at 11:23 am

Dtdang said:

Thank you so much, @ggpetrov and @Paprik.
    I get another difficulty is that tara gum is difficult to soluble in cool water. I have to put tara gum + H2O in freezer for at least 2 hours for tara gum dispersing to water. Is there another way to soluble tara gum in water?

Hi! :blush:
    Xanthan Gum is known to make the formulation a little less pretty/fancy than other gums in general. But the “paste” technique can be used for this as well as for Solagum Tara.