Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Alcohol as a preservative in cosmetic formulations

• Alcohol as a preservative in cosmetic formulations

Posted by tecnico3vinia on June 3, 2022 at 7:51 pm

Hi there!

I have some experience on the development of natural cosmetics (following the guidelines of Ecocert and Natrue), but there’s still SO many things that I know just a little about. One of them is preservation

So, there’s this German brand called Alverde (link: https://www.dm.de/search?query=alverde%20NATURKOSMETIK&searchType=product&brandName=alverde%20NATURKOSMETIKthat we really like in the lab that I work in. I was studying the formulation of their products and I noticed that a lot of them don’t have preservatives, just alcohol. Could alcohol be the sole preservative in these formulas? Does anyone has experience using alcohol as a preservative in cosmetics? I’d really like to stard this discussion 🙂 

Also, I’m always available if anyone need some help with natural cosmetics. 

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,

PhilGeis replied 1 year, 9 months ago 6 Members · 14 Replies
  • 14 Replies
  • PhilGeis

June 4, 2022 at 11:19 am

ethanol at 20%

• Syl

June 4, 2022 at 5:53 pm
  • Herbnerd

June 6, 2022 at 8:49 pm

I’m currently developing products to Natrue standard. A number of compounds seem to influence preservation whilst not being on the approved preservative list under Annex 4 of the standard.

If you check out various suppliers - such as this one (and there are many more) they offer a number of other ‘multifunctionals’ that offer antimicrobials that are based on flavour compounds and other molecules. 

https://cosphatec.com/en/products/

Often you will get clues to what others are using from reading the labels.

• PhilGeis

June 6, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Multifunctionals?  Those are (weak) preservatives, and multifunctional here is a head fake to the Directive.

• oldperry

June 6, 2022 at 10:18 pm