Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Chlorine removal Cleanser/Shampoo - Ingredients

• Chlorine removal Cleanser/Shampoo - Ingredients

Posted by Lab on March 18, 2022 at 8:51 pm
    Hi guys! Hope you’re doing well! 
    I want to formulate a product to remove chlorine and copper from the hair fiber, so I’m doing some research to find out what kind of ingredients I should use in a shampoo like this.
    So, I’ve been working in a cosmetics company for a few years and I already know what the structure of a cleanser should look like to formulate it, but the problem is that I couldn’t find raw materials that actually remove these elements. I did some benchmarks, read some ingredients lists and… nothing. What I found were just shampoo formulations after all, so I started to wonder if these claims about chlorine and copper are actually ingredient-based. Could it be that just the surfactants and/or chelators are doing all the hard work?
    The product is intended for people who want to take care of their hair after swimming due to exposure to these elements, but I haven’t made a formulation yet - I’m just trying to understand the chemistry behind these products, so any help is useful. 
    Thank you all for your patience and kindness!  :)
    Lab replied 1 year, 11 months ago 7 Members · 29 Replies
  • 29 Replies
  • abdullah

March 19, 2022 at 1:09 am

For chlorine water can remove it.
    For copper EDTA will remove it. 

But if these are in your rinsing water the you may not be able to remove it. 

• bill_toge

March 19, 2022 at 5:34 pm

in my experience, sodium thiosulphate is used as a chlorine-neutralising agent, and as @Abdullah says, EDTA will remove copper

• Lab

March 21, 2022 at 11:45 am

Thank you for your help @Abdullah / @Bill_Toge !