Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Formulating a serum

• Formulating a serum

Posted by josua on February 28, 2022 at 2:51 pm
    Hello, my name is josua
    i want to ask, can you correct my formula, I’m still a beginner in formulating. if something is wrong, please let me know :)  

ingredients

percentage (w/w%)

distilled water 82
    vegetable glycerin 3
    niacinamide 5
    saliguard ehgp 1
    centella asiatica extract 3,5
    mulberry extract 3
    allantoin 0,5
    zinc pca 1
    carbomer 0,3
    xanthan gum 0,7
    Citric acid solution 50% q.s
     total =100
    josua replied 2 years ago 5 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • gordof

February 28, 2022 at 3:17 pm

hi 

if you use 0.3% Carbomer you Propoply will not need any Xanthan gum in the formulation (of course depending on the viscosity you want to get). it will increase the stickiness of the Product.

you although need a Neutralization agent For the Carbomer.

depending on the Carbomer you are using you need to get the PH of the water phase to 7 and above so that the thickening effect occurs otherwise it will not help with Viscosity build-up. Most Carbomers can be neutralized with NaOH or TEA ask your supplier what works best for your type as well as the optimum ph range.

after Nutraliziation of the Carbomer, you can adjust ph back to what you need it to be. 

if you like you can have a look at how to do it and what you can get from it on a guidance formulation. (please be aware that there are several methods how to incorporate carbomer into your formulation and it differs by type so its just one way)

F-0161(EU) 98% Natural Do-It-Yourself Night Serum (ulprospector.com)
    hope that helps 

Tobias  

• ngarayeva001

March 1, 2022 at 3:55 am

Zinc PCA will break carbomer. Carbomes aren’t electrolyte resistant.

• pattsi

March 1, 2022 at 5:48 am