Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating dimethicone keeps clumping in C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate and cyclomethicone mixture?

• dimethicone keeps clumping in C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate and cyclomethicone mixture?

Posted by frustratednovice on December 28, 2021 at 9:09 pm

I am a newbie DIY.

I’m trying to mix
    dimethicone, cyclomethicone and oil and from a clear miscible solution for a
    hair oil.

LotionCrafter’s
    premix

Cyclomethicone (and)
    Dimethicone and oil would form a cloudy mixture in which the oil would later
    separate and float to the top.

I thought the oil
    might be a problem so I mixed the premix Cyclomethicone and Dimethicone with
    Cyclomethicone, and that would also cause what I assume the dimethicone to
    separate and settle at the bottom.

So I tried C12-15
    Alkyl Benzoate in hopes that it would help emulsify just using the premix
    Cyclomethicone and Dimethicone and it would form a white thick creamy
    dimethicone(?) separated from a clear cyclomethicone and alkyl benzoate.

They’re all
    Lotioncrafter’s products but the customer support hasn’t been able to give a
    product to successfully mix dimethicone, cyclomethicone and oil.

Thank you.

pharma replied 2 years, 2 months ago 7 Members · 8 Replies
  • 8 Replies
  • ketchito

December 29, 2021 at 1:49 pm

@frustratednovice That’s weird indeed. I’d expect that at least Cyclomethicone (and) dimethicone and Cyclomethicone would mix without issue. Are you somehow heating the mixture during the process? That could the dimethicone gum, so try to do the process without heat. Also, mix during the process of addition. Are Cyclomethicone (and) dimethicone, Cyclomethicone and C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate the only ingredients in your formula?

• chemicalmatt

December 31, 2021 at 4:38 pm