Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating General Homogenizer or Stirrer?

Tagged: ,

• Homogenizer or Stirrer?

Posted by peacelovenaturals on June 17, 2020 at 5:07 pm

I have a stick blender. It honestly sucks. I cant make sample batches of 2-4 oz. I have a mini wisk but it sometimes leaves me with a less smooth result. Im considering investing in a cheap overhead stirrer for now. Im a super beginner formulator so im not looking to spend a lot. Ive heard about homogenizers and heard this is a better option. If Im going to spend $200.00 which is better for basic hair care formulations and lotions? Ive also seen the Dynamic immersion blender but Im afraid I will have the same issue with the amount it will blend. Thanks

peacelovenaturals replied 3 years, 9 months ago 4 Members · 18 Replies
  • 18 Replies
  • helenhelen

June 17, 2020 at 8:03 pm

A homogeniser is good for high speed but won’t help you for slow-medium speed stirring. If you only get one item, a stirrer is probably your best bet. I have this one and it’s fine: https://www.expondo.co.uk/steinberg-systems-electric-stirrer-10030256

I also have a Dremel + rotor stator combination which I love (see this thread https://chemistscorner.com/cosmeticsciencetalk/discussion/7409/homogenizer-specs-question-for-amateur-home-use). It’s perfect for me as I’m never going to make more than 100ml at a time (it’s just for home experimentation). It can probably handle up to 200ml. But if you get something like this and come up with a formulation that only works when you homogenise by rotor stator, and then want to scale up, you’ll then need a decent homogeniser that can handle larger volumes, which will be in the $000’s, unless you take a chance with the cheap ones on eBay/Amazon.

The Dynamix and Misceo homogenisers are only for volumes over 300ml… they’re going to incorporate a lot of air otherwise.

• peacelovenaturals

June 18, 2020 at 5:18 pm