Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Advise on choosing an alternative emulsifier.

• Advise on choosing an alternative emulsifier.

Posted by Anonymous on June 13, 2020 at 11:18 am
    Hi guys
    I’m just learning to formulate, my first project is an organic cream cleanser, the problem is that there is an ingredient in the formula list that is not available in any of the sample shops in the Uk namely glyceryl stearate citrate, could I swap this for cithrol 10GTIS . Iknow they are both anionic but I don’t know enough to know if it is compatible with the rest of the formula which is Aloe vera juice, propanediol, xanthan gum, cetearyl alcohol, cetearyl glucoside, caprylic/capric triglycerides, evening primrose oil, gluconolactone, sodium benzoate, bergamot, geranium, rosemary essential oils, pomegranate enzymes, and tocopherols. Any help in choosing an emulsifier would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in anticipation
    Anonymous replied 3 years, 9 months ago 3 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • helenhelen

June 13, 2020 at 12:04 pm

I last bought GSC from Alexmo-cosmetics.de. The flat rate shipping to the UK is €14 but it’s fast as they use DHL. You’ll probably want to look around the site to make the shipping cost worth it though. I have placed larger orders from them in the past, but last night paid the full shipping cost even on a basket value of €3 because I didn’t feel like I needed anything else at the time. Tip: as the ingredient names are in German, it’s better to search via INCI name (e.g. “avena” instead of “oat oil”).

• Anonymous

June 13, 2020 at 3:41 pm
    Thank you for your response. I have also seen GSC sold in Poland at £1.09 for 30g, but as you have demonstrated you can end up paying more in postage. I
    also, think it would be helpful for my formulating knowledge to learn what ingredients can be used instead of others. Thanks for the tip on searching via INCI names
  • pharma

June 13, 2020 at 5:16 pm

blackbird said: