Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating How to mix all this

• How to mix all this

Posted by nijam on December 7, 2014 at 7:10 am

hi guys. i’m not a chemist but want to ask,how to mix all this ingredients? can someone explain in a simple ways ? what temperature is needed to heat this.

WATER (AQUA)  
    CETEARETH-25  
    GLYCERIN  
    PEG-7 GLYCERYL COCOATE  
    PEG 40 HYDROGENTATED CASTOR OIL  
    PVP K90  
    PROPYLENE GLYCOL  
    SIMETHICONE  
    DMDM HYDANTOIN  
    FRAGRANCE (PARFUM)  
    PEG-8 BEESWAX  
    POLYSORBATE 20  

this is formula for w/s pomade that i got from this forum too. thanks in advance 
    gnomebeard replied 5 years, 9 months ago 11 Members · 20 Replies
  • 20 Replies
  • bobzchemist

December 7, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Don’t do it. This is not a place for beginners.

• nijam

December 7, 2014 at 11:55 pm

@Bobzchemist

i have some basic knowledge in chemist.. sorry for asking,why i cannot do this?
  • oldperry

December 8, 2014 at 9:54 pm

This is a pretty standard formula but you should have the right equipment (beakers, hot plate and mixer).

Assuming you have that you have to mix all the water based ingredients in one phase and the oil based ingredients in the other.
    Heat to 75C, blend water and oil phases, mix at least 20 minutes.  Cool down and when the batch is below 45C, add DMDM Hydantoin and fragrance.
    But Bob is right, you should have a working knowledge of all the ingredients you are using before making the formula.
    Perry, 44
  • nasrins

December 9, 2014 at 1:19 am

lubrizol,making cosmetic and many other reputed companies introduce furmulas with procedure

https://www.lubrizol.com/PersonalCare/Formulations/SkinCareBodyLotions.html

http://www.makingcosmetics.com/Formulas_ep_5.html

• nijam

December 9, 2014 at 3:22 am

@Perry
    thanks.clear explanation from you. thanks again.

@nasrins
    thanks for the link.will discovered it soon !

• shahimanshair

March 22, 2015 at 4:30 pm