Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating surfactants mixing order

• surfactants mixing order

Posted by esmail on February 22, 2019 at 8:39 am
    hello
    i am a chemist(but not a such good one :) ) and trying to make liquid hand wash. i’m new in this filed and in this site too

i have some formulations that all of that says to mix surfactants in this order:
    SLES
    CAPB
    some citric acid(0.1%)
    CDEA
    disodium laureth sulfosuccinate
    is this theorically right (i read a post by perry in his website that tells add CAPB at the end)? if not, so whtat is the correct procedure to mixing that 4?
    and could someone tell me please how pH affects (if it is) salt thickening?
    sorry about my terrible english
    smok replied 5 years, 1 month ago 5 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • LisaS

February 22, 2019 at 7:41 pm

I would do some research into how pH can affect the anionic charge at the headgroup, since micelle packing relies on this, and greater packing allows for changes in shape to form a gel. 

• ngarayeva001

February 22, 2019 at 9:07 pm

I totally agree with Perry as learned it myself via trial and error. CAPB goes in the end.

Start with SLES and sulfosuccinate, then mix Cocamide DEA with a little bit of water and heat it to 55-60C. It will make it clear and homogenous. Add cocamide DEA to SLES and sulfosuccinate. Add water and all other ingredients. Then Add CAPB in the very end and adjust the pH. Looking at the combination of surfactants that you have, I think you don’t need any salt.

• Aziz

February 23, 2019 at 3:15 am

Then Add CAPB in the very end and adjust the pH. Looking at the combination of surfactants that you have, I think you don’t need any salt.

Without salt is it possible to achieve ultimate thickness . To consumers , thicker is better and thickest is the best . In case of hand wash , shower gel , shampoo etc consumers choose the thickest one , they don’t look at how much better ingredients inside the bottle . 

• esmail