Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Formula Ownership and Profits?

• Formula Ownership and Profits?

Posted by LynnK on February 13, 2019 at 7:05 pm

My friend wants me to help her formulate cosmetics for her cosmetic line. Once everything is said and done, who owns the formula and all the products produced? Also what are my rights as far as profits when these products are created? I’m fairly new in this market and I haven’t found a lot of information online. Thank you.

EVchem replied 5 years, 1 month ago 4 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • markbroussard

February 13, 2019 at 7:08 pm

That is all subject to negotiation between you and your client …

• belassi

February 13, 2019 at 8:25 pm

First, better ask yourself, has your friend actually made any money doing this? Does she own a brand? Does the brand have a successful Web site and social media pages? Does she know any influencers?

• LynnK

February 13, 2019 at 9:24 pm

No offense, but if you don’t have anything helpful to say, please don’t respond.

• LynnK

February 13, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Belassi said:

First, better ask yourself, has your friend actually made any money doing this? Does she own a brand? Does the brand have a successful Web site and social media pages? Does she know any influencers?

I don’t know all this. What does this have to do with my question?
  • markbroussard

February 13, 2019 at 9:39 pm

LynnK said:

No offense, but if you don’t have anything helpful to say, please don’t respond.

Excuse me, but I gave you the correct answer to your question.  It is all a function of your negotiations.  You can retain an interest in the products with a royalty paid to you or you can negotiate that the IP is owned by your client, you get your development fee and you both go on your way.

So you need to define in your contract who owns the IP to formula.  If you retain the IP, then you need to negotiate whether or not a royalty is paid to you.