Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Is this a real ingredient list?

Tagged: 

• Is this a real ingredient list?

Posted by Lady_B on November 10, 2018 at 7:20 pm

Hi,

I am a beginner in the formulation (still doing more reading than formulating at the moment) and I came across this serum that claims they have 20% ascorbyl phosphate, 2.5% retinol, 2% salicylic acid and a bunch of other stuff. Is this even realistic to make all these ingredients play well in the same bottle? It is one of the bestsellers on Amazon and has raving reviews.

gunther replied 5 years, 4 months ago 6 Members · 10 Replies
  • 10 Replies
  • belassi

November 10, 2018 at 8:39 pm

No it is not a proper ingredients list.

• Lady_B

November 10, 2018 at 9:53 pm

@Belassi do you refer to the non proper INCI naming of the ingredients or overall unrealistic percentages and combination of ingredients?

• ngarayeva001

November 10, 2018 at 11:07 pm

I have a serious suspicion that it’s not listed in the right order. Back to your question, the answer is no. Too much in one bottle. I would not package retinol and salicylic acid together. Retinol is so powerful by itself that it should not be mixed with other actives in such a concentration. Retinol does play well with ceramides (many professionals will say there’s no proof that ceramides work), tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate and probably bisabolol to reduce irritation. But this list looks too intense. Also, Niacinamide and salycilic require different pH to perform well.

• oldperry

November 11, 2018 at 12:12 am

This is not even close to a proper ingredient list. Words like “organic”, “infusion”, and “wildcrafted” have no place in an ingredient list. These are marketing terms that belong in advertising copy, not an ingredient list!