Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Hair Mask with gumlike / slimy texture

• Hair Mask with gumlike / slimy texture

Posted by ChrisV on October 23, 2018 at 3:06 pm

Hallo everybody! Actually this is my first post here. I’m a professional formulation chemist and I currently work in creating a hair mask.

In this project, the company decided to actually imitate a very known benchmark. The benchmark is a hydrating mask with a texture that is giving you the impression that something went wrong in its stability.Texture can be defined as gumlike / slimy and it reminds me the way xanthan gum or a cellulose derivative behaves when it is dissolved in an aqueous system. However the list of ingredients in the benchmark excludes xanthan gum or a similar cellulose. I don’t think the ingredient list is very important cause this particular benchmark is one of four masks that this company distributes and the other three with different ingredient lists have the same texture.

However, here is the ingredient list in the hydrating mask : aqua, cetearyl alcohol, dimethicone, canola oil, parfume, behentrimonium methosulfate, cetyl alcohol, argan oil, shea butter, hydrolyzed vegetable protein PG-propyl silanetriol, PEG-60 almond glycerides, acetamide MEA, butylene glycol, steareth-2 and afterwards the preservative and allergens.

All the carried out experiments using cetearyl-cetyl alcohol for creating a robust consistency along with the rest necessary ingredients resulted in a - let’s say- conventional texture which is steady, rich and pleasant, but it is away from the gum-like texture mentioned above. Can anyone share a thought? I’ve consulted a colleague which has a formulation experience of about 20 years in cosmetics and mentioned that something is actually intervening with the micellar system.