Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Do synthetic oils oxidize?

• Do synthetic oils oxidize?

Posted by ngarayeva001 on September 26, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Hello All,

After a lot of doubts I finally ordered several synthetic
    oils: Mineral Oil, Petrolatum and Hydrogenated Polyisobutene.

I have some experience with vegetable oils, but I don’t know
    whether synthetic oils are the same. Every time I search for synthetic oils
    online, to understand how to formulate with them, I either get chemo phobic
    articles (like 10 reasons to avoid mineral oil etc.) or articles about car
    engines.

Should I add vitamin E to the formula (let’s say a basic o/w moisturiser),
    or they don’t oxidize (I understand it sounds silly for professional chemists,
    but I really can’t find anything reasonable online)? Any other specifics
    related to synthetic oils?

Thank you in advance.

doreen replied 5 years, 5 months ago 5 Members · 23 Replies
  • 23 Replies
  • oldperry

September 26, 2018 at 1:35 pm

No, the oils you listed do not generally oxidize.  It has to do with the structure of the compounds.

Vegetable oils typically contain molecules that have double bonds of carbon to carbon (C=C). These bonds are susceptible to oxidation which is one reaction that happens in rancidity.

Vegetable oils also have Carbon Oxygen bonds (C-O-C) which can react with water to produce free radicals that can further react to break down compounds in the system.

Mineral oil, Petrolatum and Hydrogenated Polyisobutene primarily contain single bonded Carbon-Carbon or Carbon-Hydrogen atoms.  C-C  and C-H.  These are generally not subject to oxidation.

I should note that Mineral Oil and Petrolatum are not synthetic oils. No one synthesizes them in a lab. They are derived from crude oil in the same way that essential oils are derived from plant matter. There is no chemical reactions involved in isolating them from oil. 

• doreen

September 26, 2018 at 1:36 pm