Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating General Cost of Deionized Water for Cosmetics

• Cost of Deionized Water for Cosmetics

Posted by Graci on June 29, 2018 at 5:39 am

Hi All, 

I would like to know what the cost to produce deionized water for cosmetics is? 

I’m studying the difference in cost if I were to replace DI water with Hydrosols. 

Any insights will be very much appreciated. 

Regards, 
    Graci

sven replied 5 years, 8 months ago 9 Members · 18 Replies
  • 18 Replies
  • EVchem

June 29, 2018 at 12:36 pm

I think that depends on where you plan on getting the DI water from/ size of your operation. Are you going to buy it from the grocery store? Are you going to order cation and anion tanks and deionize the water in-house?

• gunther

June 29, 2018 at 5:41 pm

Real deionized water is devoid of most soluble gases like CO2.
    By the time you finished formulating, it became distilled water since it absorbs gases from the atmosphere.

Quality distilled water is enough.

• dr-catherine-pratt

July 1, 2018 at 10:49 am

The cost between distilled water and hydro-sols is massive. Distilled water can be bought very cheaply.

• gunther

July 2, 2018 at 2:50 am

You can do most hydrosols yourself. Provided you can buy the whole or powdered plant.
    Since they’re water soluble, extraction ain’t no big deal.

• dr-catherine-pratt

July 2, 2018 at 2:56 am

Gunther are you talking about floral water? is floral water the same as the hydrosol, now I have myself confused..

• gunther

July 2, 2018 at 3:06 am

Just hydrosols in general
    technically speaking hydrosol is just a fancy term for ‘dissolved in water’.
    Even tea, which you can make at home, is technically an hydrosol.
    Of course getting tea leaves is way easier and cheaper than getting fresh flowers.
    I’ve always wondered how do they manage to get hydrosols fresh trough mail hot temperatures, without preservatives.

• dr-catherine-pratt

July 2, 2018 at 3:11 am