Hair Shampoo manufacture - Cosmetic Science Talk

Hair Shampoo manufacture

Hi everyone
I tried making hair shampoos for commercial purposes a few months ago and I used a formulation from a manufacturing guide(a book) I bought. My product wasn't smooth and it was separating. I tried it twice again with half the previous measurements but it still came out same way. This is the formulation I used:

Antisol: 1kg
Soda ash: 1.25kg
EDTA: 0.05kg
Citric acid: 0.2kg
Sulphonic acid: 0.75kg
Sodium Benzoate: 0.1kg
SLS: 1.75kg
Glycerine: 0.1kg

The method I used for production as stated in the book was to soak the Antisol in water for 48hrs. Soak the soda ash and SLS for 24hrs. Add sulphonic acid to the soda ash. Add the mix to the Antisol. Add EDTA and SLS. Then add citric acid, Glycerine, Sodium Benzoate, Fragrance and colour in that order.
Is something wrong with my formulation or the method of production I'm currently using? I have little knowledge in cosmetic and formulation. I need your advice. Thank you.

Comments

• Replace the antisol with HEC and add to water,edta and glycerine; heat to 60-70C.Use pre-neutralized sup[honic acid (sodium salt) and add to HEC solution followed by SLS;mix until clear cool and add sodium benzoate citric acid.If you can replace replace sodium alkyl sulphonate with SLES (3). 
  • @DRBOB@VERDIENT.BIZ thank you. I'll try it out. 
  • This seems like a primitive formulation. "Soda ash"? And why would you use as a major ingredient a type of cellulose that is sold for use in industrial cutting processes as a foam reducer? I suggest you make a more modern product unless you're living in a stone-age location.
    Design of anti-aging creams, gels, and serums; shampoos; and therapeutic cosmetics. In-house label and box design capability.
  • That's a strange formula indeed.

This is a body wash but it would work as a shampoo too. 
    http://chemistscorner.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/body_wash_formula4.jpg