Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating How to guess the percentage

• How to guess the percentage

Posted by natzam44 on January 26, 2017 at 5:30 am

Hello,
    I made a post yesterday asking about water based products and have since started educating myself on the subject (I hope I am not posting too much). I have started looking at the ingredients of water based hair products and I have been trying to guess the percentage of each ingredient. This is great practice but, without someone verifying it, it is useless. 

Please keep in mind that I am only a beginner and I do not have much experience with water based products however, I love cosmetic chemistry and I am excited to learn more about it.

Okay, from what I have learned, water is usually about 50%. That gives me somewhere to start, the rest is just estimating (for me).

Tell me what you guys think.

Here is the list of ingredients (taken from Kegley & Co’s Clay Pomade):
    Water/Aqua   40%
    Castor Oil   20%
    Emulsifying Wax NF   15%
    Beeswax   10%
    Olive Oil   5%
    Bentonite Clay   5%
    Kaolin Clay   4%   
    Eucalyptus Essential Oil   0.5%
    Sage Essential Oil   0.5%

I look forward to hearing from you guys.

Thanks,
    Nathaniel

Silvie replied 7 years, 2 months ago 6 Members · 7 Replies
  • 7 Replies
  • Silvie

January 26, 2017 at 10:32 am

Hi Nathaniel, I´m Sylvie and i´m learning too. Now i´m trying to understand the ingredients in a shampoo with the idea of formulate mine, but i´m curious with your formula, and i have a lot of questions , maybe someone can help us to understand this formula. Sorry for asking if not appropriate

I do not see a preservative in this formula, and this formula has water. I would think it is necessary, is it?

What is the ph of the emulsifier you are using (Emulsifying Wax NF is a nonionic self-emulsifying wax
    Cetearyl Alcohol (and) Polysorbate 60) i have not seen in its Material Safety Data Sheet