Personal introduction and stuff... :-) - Cosmetic Science Talk

Personal introduction and stuff... :-)

edited January 4 in General

Hello everyone,
I'm Anna, 39, from the Netherlands and always had a huge interest in skincare, from a young age already.

I do have a bit of a background in Chemistry, I'm a clinical pharmacy technician. For my job I have made quite some protocolled dermatics through the years, but my expertise is mostly in formulating and preparing parenterals such as chemotherapeutics.

Since about half a year I've started making skincare products for my own use. It's become quite clear to me how much I forgot through the years (about dermatics) and since I have always prepared already formulated and mostly standardized dermatics, knowledge about, for example, emulsifiers has been fading away.

After a lot of searching on the internet, I'm so glad that I finally found this forum. With all respect, but most of the girlish DIY blogs contain so much bullsh*t, I just can't take it seriously.

I have found a distributor in this country that delivers quite some chemicals and packages etc.
To make a start, I just ordered some emulsifiers, acidity testing strips, active ingredients such as niacinamide, allantoïn etc.
With a bit of info here and there I started making a moisturizer.
For this moisturizer I made two macerated oils (chamomile and calendula in grapeseedoil and almond oil).
This is the one I have been sticking by for the last months, although I really think the formula could be made a lot better:

Oil Phase:
10% Emulsifying Wax (Cetearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 20)

15% Shea Butter

10% Macerated Oil (Chamomile in Grapeseedoil)

+/- 5% Vitamin Mixture
(INCI: Arachis Hypogaea, Retinyl Palmitate, alpha-Tocopherol) -> I've calculated this, in this formula it comes to a 1% retinol equivalent emulsion, as 1 I.U. vitamin A stands for 0,3 microgram retinol and 0,55 microgram retinyl palmitate))