Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Hair Formulating/testing Hair Color

• Formulating/testing Hair Color

Posted by CLiCS4U on September 8, 2016 at 9:16 pm

Hi All,
    Does anyone have experience with developing and testing hair color dyes? I’m interested in what the testing cycle is?
    I am in start up mode and have a chemist that is developing the line (he says 6-9mos. and stability testing another 3mos.) and then will hand it off to me to formulate our unique shades and do the comprehensive testing.
    I have been a colorist for over 20 years and look forward to creating the shades, but the testing phase is still a bit fuzzy. Could anyone help shed some light on how long that process may take before releasing it to our beta test customers? TIA!

bill_toge replied 7 years, 6 months ago 2 Members · 5 Replies
  • 5 Replies
  • bill_toge

September 8, 2016 at 9:37 pm

I’ve got a few years’ experience in that field

what kind of dyes are they, i.e. are they direct or oxidative?

also, if they’re oxidative, are they liquids or powders?

in either case, formulating and testing different shades in the lab is the longest part of the process

• CLiCS4U

September 9, 2016 at 6:39 pm

They are oxidative dyes. Crème haircolor.
    We are developing 7 base shades and 15 pure tone shades. Our chemist is creating the 22 components of the line and I will mix and match to create the shades.
    I’m wondering about the water test, the leave it in the sun test, the apply, then wash/rinse-reapply test, etc. I haven’t done that kind of testing so I’m trying to get as much info as I can to gauge our time to market as best I can.
    In your experience, should we be looking at the 6-9 mo. window he set, but assume it will be closer to 9mos. instead of 6?
    Thanks for the reply Bill.

• bill_toge

September 9, 2016 at 11:35 pm