Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating W/O Emulsion tips please

• W/O Emulsion tips please

Posted by chickenskin on August 30, 2016 at 10:36 pm

I’ve been trying to keep an emulsion stable yet unsuccessful.  I am relatively new to W/O but have been doing O/W for a while.  The product I am trying to develop is a thicker creme.  The problem I have been getting is the water coalescing during cooldown while stirring at a low speed.  My water is around 73% (including little aloe, prop glycol, etc), my oil at 27% including my emulsifier is around 6% with co-emulsifier (cetyl OH) at 14%.  Any help/tips would be appreciated, thank you.

chemicalmatt replied 7 years, 6 months ago 6 Members · 16 Replies
  • 16 Replies
  • microformulation

August 31, 2016 at 1:32 am

What is your primary emulsifier? And are you SURE that you want 73% water suspended in 27% oil? Do you believe that this promotes stability?  I know that current thought is that 60-80% water (or less than 74%) is stable but I have always found this to be a difficult and advanced problem to crack;
    http://www.cosmeticsandtoiletries.com/research/methodsprocesses/4418977.html
    Use that to do more research and you may get the problem solved.

• chickenskin

August 31, 2016 at 2:21 am

Hi thanks for responding, my primary is ABIL® WE 09.  I’m not sure I want 73%, I just want a high viscosity lotion ~30k cps.  Should I be high sheer mixing for longer than 5 min before I switch to paddle mixer?  This is just a lot different than o/w

• microformulation

August 31, 2016 at 5:14 am

Here is a sample Formulation from the distributor. Usually they have better documentation. I would suggest reaching out to your rep. I think you are on the right track;

• Anonymous

August 31, 2016 at 6:49 am