Cosmetic Chemist working out of industry but wanting to reacquaint myself.

Hi fellow chemists,

I'm Tani and a Cosmetic Chemist - however when I graduated in 2004 I quickly went from product manager over to marketing as my prior degree was in Marketing.

I have worked closely with R'n'D but only within a 3P context as I was tasked to develop products and brands via outsourcing only.  As a result I effectively have not utilised any of my formulation knowledge in at least 9 years.

I have successfully launched a couple of brands for others and currently am Head of Brand - Europe for an FMCG company however I have to one day have my own brand.  With 6 years to go I am considering starting my own from home DIY kitchen style products for myself, then friends and family all just to get my hands dirty again - so to speak. Basically gradually reintroducing myself back into formulation work.

I have looked at some local formular courses but they are all far too basic yet I feel quite inadequate at delving right into formulation development at the same time.

My question is how would you recommend I refamiliarize myself with my roots in Cosmetic Chemistry?  Any key recap books/journals?

Any advice is welcomed.

Thanks

Tani

Comments

• PharmaSpainPharmaSpain Member, PCF student
    Hi,

If you are really "disconnected" from your formulating capacities, maybe you can find helpful Perry´s formulation course:

I may interesting this blog too (it is not high science but it is more scientific that most of others DIY blogs):
    swiftcraftymonkey.blogspot.com

Welcome to the forum
  • BobzchemistBobzchemist Member, PCF student
    Tani,