Home Cosmetic Science Talk Formulating Cosmetic Industry naturally skin lightening product formulation

• naturally skin lightening product formulation

Posted by olubunmi on August 26, 2015 at 6:12 pm

I have benefited immensely from this network. Thanks so much Perry. My name is Ashimolowo Olubunmi. I am a lecturer in a University, (Associate Professor) but has passion for helping the less privileged. Hence, I serve as the Chairperson of Gender Development Initiative. The fact that i lost 2 friends to breast cancer this year made me to be curious at developing a beauty package that can lighten naturally with little or no adverse effect. This includes lotion, cream, facial scrub, night cream, sun block etc. I have done some trials but desire to have a product that can enter EU market. I am not satisfied with what have currently as regards formulation. I need suggestions on formulations that would be basically organic. Thank you.

microformulation replied 8 years, 7 months ago 8 Members · 26 Replies
  • 26 Replies
  • AuroraBorealis

August 26, 2015 at 8:30 pm

First of all welcome! 

Second of all, you have my sympathy for losing loved ones to cancer but cosmetics aren’t responsible for that… although the market wants you to believe that! 
    For ingredients that whiten naturally, you’re limited to very few. Google licorice and take it from there. If you’re doing the products yourself you should be able to pull some starter formulas and go from there. 

• microformulation

August 26, 2015 at 8:50 pm

I have done a lot of these products and realistically you are not going to be able to do much with just plant derived actives for customers in the Fitzpatrick scale (pigmentation rating system used by dermatologists) who are a IV,V or IV. You will need to use a synthetic active. Many are avoiding hydroquinone due to fears of toxicity, but many other products use actives such as Kojic acid derivatives or Arbutin.